Time Goes By For Those Who Wait

1d1e2dd1fa98aaeb9d3a5710d620e123

Ever feel like life is moving so fast? I guess the answer is yes, especially when you look at time literally. Every millisecond, second and minute is rapidly becoming history right before our eyes. So how does this affect us, personally? This is the part where I can start writing cliches with a lot of wise old saying like, “be grateful for everything you have now or you’ll never know how blessed you are” or better said by Ferris Bueller, “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.” By now I realize I gave into exactly what I wasn’t going to do; write all these cliches yet true quotes. In reality though, these sayings have true value but they are also easier said then done.

I’m at the point in my journey where I literally have a pile of work on my desk. Whether it’s from school, work or leisure, it’s there and it’s been there for quite some time. I’m not saying I’m procrastinating because I work every single second on my pile. And yet I’m still in awe of how much I think I’ve accomplished compared to the non decreasing pile surrounding me. Today, I took a step back to look at my desk and all the things I have to do. I asked myself, “How did I get there?”. I don’t mean this in a bad way; please don’t get me wrong. Every single project I voluntarily endure and pursue I do because I love them all. But what I am saying is, did I put too much on my plate? I do have a tendency to take on more than I think I can handle. And this trend stems from the fact that I understand time is moving at the speed of light. And I don’t want to miss a thing (Aerosmith’s song insert). I don’t want to miss every opportunity given to me or miss the exciting things in life. But now I’m finding out that I may have took on more than I can chew which eventually makes all the individual projects become one pile of burden. I’m learning to take things one step at a time.

I want to give you a further look into the world of my projects and responsibilities, I’ve kindly listed them below.

School; Accounting, Business Law, Economics, Fashion Perspectives, History and Japanese. Work; Deadlines, Managing writers, Finding stories, Writing stories, Web editing, Work social media updates. Personal; Fashion blog, keeping up with posts, finding interesting topics, reading, writing my own novel, 50 books to read, a Kindle I have yet to use, a new Computer & Typewriter I have yet to use, Exercise, Find internships, Write cover letters, 4 Research papers and meetings.

Wow, when I look at the list above, I’m surprised at the fact that I’m still mentally calm and grateful. One reason I’m still motivated to do everything on my list is because I understand how the world is truly connected. After all, aren’t we all 6 degrees apart? It’s natural for people not to get acknowledged for all the amazing deeds they do for someone. I’m completely okay with that because I personally know by doing all the things that I love to do with 100% of my heart, someone else’s world would benefit from it.

Let’s take this blog of mine as an example. I remember writing my first 5 posts and feeling like I wasn’t going anywhere with it because I wasn’t getting a billion views a day. But I’m 41 posts into my blog and I’ve noticed a major change. Changes including increased view count, becoming a better writer and having people reposting my posts. Can I tell you something? Even if I don’t know most of the people who read my blog, when I see every view count and every shared post, it makes my day! It’s really the small things that count! All the doubts and insecurities of whether I should be writing a blog were in fact completely worth it because now I’m the most happiest I could be with my blog and readers! Sure I have to sacrifice some social life and be sleep deprived but I personally know it’s going to be worth every effort!

What I’m learning and hoping you have as well by reading this post, is that indeed life moves pretty fast but you have the control and power to slow the clock down. I dare you to do one thing, just one, that you’ve always wanted to do and don’t quit. Don’t relinquish on your goal but most importantly, on yourself. And lastly with a closing cliche quote “It’s not the destination, it’s the journey.”

With Unconditional Love, Victoria Song.

Leave a Reply

