OfficialVS Birthday

photo 2-13

Birthdays come and go annually, but the experiences and lessons we gain each year are priceless. Today I am going from 21 years old to 22. I keep asking my sister, “Do I look one year older today?” I remember celebrating my 21st birthday like it was yesterday and how I felt like an adult because everything became legal for me. And reflecting back to that memory from today’s celebration, I realize that I’ve learned a lot. I learned so much about the meaning of life and why things are the way they are. However, most of all, I learned about myself.

As an adolescent immediately transitioning towards adulthood, it can be hard to figure out who you are and what you want to do. And that is how I felt throughout my growing life, but this year was different. Instead of living, I lived. I experienced a lot of new things and met a lot of different people. Now that I am 22, I can say that I have learned from my mistakes and I will continue to learn from mistakes but now I know I’ll always have myself along the way. I feel comfortable within my own skin and I realize where I’d like to improve myself, not others telling me how to improve. Throughout my 22 years of living, I learned that life goes on and for good reasons. Life moves, experiences pass and moments become memories, but the only thing consistent through life’s change is you. Really invest in yourself and learn to love you. Once you obtain inner peace, you can start helping others. Help yourself to help others.

If growing older means gaining more valuable knowledge and experiences, I am extremely excited to get old. It’s ironic how older people want to be younger but still have their wisdom. And how young people want to be older but still have their youth. Can we really have the best of both worlds? I’m personally excited for the year to come till it’s my birthday again and I wake up 23 years old. I know a lot of things are coming my way, the good and the bad, but I’m eager to face the obstacles and fight towards my goals. My 22 is going to be all about achievements.

Thank you so much to everyone who has wished me Happy Birthday! Words cannot express how much I appreciate everyone’s kindness. Without you, I would not be the strong and confidence young lady I am today. So for my 22 birthday, I want to dedicate this post to you because you all are the reason this blog exists.

With Love, Victoria Song.

Reflections from 21-22 anos

Leave a Reply

