It’s Not the City, It’s Me

e2415af1a35927146398a8f1f0a348f6

Hi everyone!

I am in New York City right now and I am having a lot of interesting fun. Actually no, it’s not all it’s cracked up to be. I want to be honest with everyone and tell you with rawness how I am experiencing the city. All I can say is, I’m learning a lot about myself while living here. I arrived thinking I knew exactly what my life is going to be about and what path it was definitely going to take. But now I’m here so confused and unsure about where my life will go. And the most honest I could be with you is that; I’m scared. It’s not the stereotype of crimes on the streets or the large amount of strange people on the subway that is scaring me. It’s my hazy future that is haunting me; It’s not the city, it’s me. 

I’m afraid of the unknown. There’s not a second that goes by where I don’t think about my future. It’s the scariest thing in the world to not know where everything will lead, especially when things aren’t going according to plan. Physically, I might not show my panic but internally I’m freaking out. So as you can see, I’m learning a lot about the city and myself.

I’m learning that it’s truly just me and the world. Of course, I’m not saying that you don’t need anyone in your life. I’m just saying that at the end of the day, it’s you with you and that no one is going to help you but you because no one is going to be living your problems. So what happens next?

Anything. Absolutely anything can happen next and that could be a good thing or a bad thing. But it’s you who gets to choose. Right now it may seem as though it’s you against the world but it’s really you with the world. All I’m saying is that you have to be okay with failing and struggling to get to your next destination. And I can’t help but question my own answer to this. It’s an internal struggle of course between going after what you really want while knowing you might not get it.

Well, I’m choosing to stay positive and not letting my fears get in the way of what I want this summer. What is it that you want? and What is holding you back? Remember to ‘say what you want’. And with this quote, I’ve decided to show you some trendy graphic tees from Forever 21, Urban Outfitters and Nasty Gal. Graphic tees are great to show off a lot of different quotes and sayings so why not wear a shirt that says what you want.

Peace, Love & Happiness. Your girl, Victoria Song.

2 thoughts on “It’s Not the City, It’s Me

Leave a Reply

