Grateful for my Summertime Sadness

Summertime Sadness

 

“I don’t regret this life chose for me.” 

My summer in New York City is coming to an end. Two weeks left to be exact. And while I’ve had such a wonderful time here, I think I’m ready to go home because I’ve tried my hardest to stay. But sometimes ‘your best isn’t good enough’. And I terribly miss my cat, Tigger, so much!

 

Before I came to realize my unwinding reality, I spoke with my lovely NYC friend about not wanting to go back to Georgia. To be honest, the whole time I’ve been here, I didn’t want to leave. I wanted to stay forever because it felt so right and at home. I have met so many amazing people and developed a wonderful network but at the end of the day, it was ultimately me and my own personal journey. You walk on the path of your customized future and unfortunately, some people don’t get to go with you. But that’s the beauty I see in life. We’re all walking past each other living in the same second but really we all walk with a different time line and sense of time. So we’re living around each other’s past, present and future. That is why it is so important to focus on one direction; your direction because if there’s one thing I learned this summer is that no one is going to care about you but you. And I mean, truly care for you.

Even though I want to stay so badly in New York City, it feels right to go back home knowing I tried my best. Because there seems to be nothing for me right now in NYC and that’s okay. But I’m leaving, knowing that I will come back next time permanently; This is were I want to live and die. This summer, I found home and now I have something to look forward towards as I finish up school. There’s nothing more motivating than knowing your dream is real by actually experiencing it. I’m off to my next ‘Official Victoria Song’ adventure.

I want to thank everyone who has and hasn’t made my experience in NYC such a great one. You know who you are. But I have to give a huge shout out to the one person who I have developed such a stronger connection with by being here. And that is my aunt. As family, we were always close but not this close. I’m so lucky to have such a great support like her and it’s truly a privilege to have her in my life.

So demand something of yourself. Make something of your thoughts. Go out there and live it up because no one else will be living it for you. Even if life isn’t giving you what you want right now, it eventually will and it will be 100% better. “Seek it out and you shall find.”

signature

 

 

 

Quote 1: ‘Home’ by Daughty

Quote 2: ‘Counting Stars” by One Republic

One thought on “Grateful for my Summertime Sadness

  1. Beautiful Victoria,

       I was hoping to get to NYC and see you.  Hopefully I’ll be there in the coming week and a half to say farewell until you return.  I’m glad you had a good time here, and wish you continued success and safe travels!

      Thank you for sharing yourself with all of us, and hopefully I’ll see you soon! Dan Griffin

    Confidentiality Notice: The information contained in this communication and any attached documents may be privileged, confidential, and proprietary information of Dan Griffin and is intended only for the addressee specified. Any unauthorized use, distribution, copying, or disclosure of this communication is strictly prohibited, as well as any contact with any confidential information, both in the emails and attachments, is prohibited without expressed prior permission of Dan Griffin. If you have received this communication in error, please contact the sender immediately.

Leave a Reply

